Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control District 1

DFPC Wildland Fire Regions are divided into 4 Districts with 4 supervisory District Chiefs and 14 regions with 14 Regional Battalion Chiefs. District and Battalion Chiefs assist local agencies with preparedness, planning, training, coordination, and response.

They serve as subject-matter-experts and provide technical assistance to local agencies during wildfire incidents, and fill incident command positions when requested. On large, extended attack fires, DCs and BCs conduct assessments to determine eligibility for State Responsibility and serve as Agency Representatives and Agency Representatives.

The Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control’s District 1 is comprised of 4 Battalion Chiefs, 2 Engines, and 2 Wildland Fire Modules. The District Headquarters is based in Windsor. The engines are typically staffed during business hours and provide assistance to local departments, especially in rural communities through mutual-aid agreements.

The Big Thompson Region oversees Larimer, Morgan, and Weld counties.

Coal Creek Region oversees Adams, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, and Gilpin counties.

The Table Mountain Region oversees Arapahoe, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, Jefferson, and Lincoln Counties.

The South Platte Region oversees Kit Carson, Logan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, and Yuma counties.

Big Thompson Region – 11
Coal Creek Region – 12
Table Mountain Region – 13
South Platte Region – 14