Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control District 4

DFPC Wildland Fire Regions are divided into 4 Districts with 4 supervisory District Chiefs and 14 regions with 14 Regional Battalion Chiefs. District and Battalion Chiefs assist local agencies with preparedness, planning, training, coordination, and response.

They serve as subject-matter-experts and provide technical assistance to local agencies during wildfire incidents, and fill incident command positions when requested. On large, extended attack fires, DCs and BCs conduct assessments to determine eligibility for State Responsibility and serve as Agency Representatives and Agency Representatives.

The Gunnison River Region consists of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, and Ouray counties.

The San Juan River Region consists of Archuleta, La Plata, Montezuma, and San Juan counties.

The Uncompahgre River Region consists of Delores, Montrose, and San Miguel counties.

The Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control’s District 4 is comprised of 1 Supervisory District Chief, 1 Deputy District Chief, 3 Battalion Chiefs, 1 cross-staffed Type 6 Engine, 1 Type 3 Engine, 1 Helicopter, 1 Helitack crew,  and 1 Wildland Fire Module.

Gunnison River Region – 41
Uncompahgre River Region – 42
Montrose HeliTack
San Juan River Region – 43
Command / Support