Deer Mountain Fire Protection District

Deer Mountain Fire Protection District (DMFPD), covering 260 square miles in Fremont County (Colorado) including the areas of Arkansas River-Coaldale State Wildlife Area, Big Horn Sheep Canon, Cedar Canyon Ranch, Cedar Springs Gulch, Cody Park, Colorado Acres, Cooper Gulch, Cotopaxi, Dead Mans Hill, Eagle Peak Ranch, Echo, Elkhorn Mountain, Glen Vista, Hamilton Creek, Indian Springs, Iron Mountain Wilderness Area, Pleasanton, Pole Mountain, Red Mountain, Ross Springs, Spikebuck, Sunset City, Texas Creek, Turkey Gulch & Vallie. (FDID #04360)

The Deer Mountain Fire Protection District was formed in November of 1985 after the Deer Mountain Volunteer Fire Department, which was formed in 1984 saw a need for expansion and tax dollars to run the Fire Department. In February 1988, the town of Coaldale joined the District, than left the district in May of 2008 and started the Western Fremont Fire Protection District. Cotopaxi Fire Department (FDID # 04320) join the district in January of 1990 and Indian Springs Volunteer Fire Department joined at an unknown date.

Deer Mountain Fire Protection District is dispatched by the Fremont County E911 Authority (Frecom911).

Station 1 – Copper Gulch
Station 2 – Cotopaxi
Station 3 – Indian Springs
Station 4 – South
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.