Red, White & Blue Fire Rescue

Red, White & Blue Fire Protection District (RWBFPD), covering 138 square miles in Summit County (Colorado) including the areas of Arapaho National Forest, Bekkedal, Blue River, Breckenridge, Breckenridge Ski Resort, Brewery Hill, Colorado Trail, Corporal Mine, Goose Pasture Tam, Grand Lodge, Hoosier Pass, Humbug Hill, Illinois Gulch, Lincoln, McCullough Gulch, Mineral Hill, Moonstone, Rexford, Swandyke, Tenmile Range & Tiger. (FDID #11750)

Red White & Blue Fire District boundaries are Hoosier Pass to the South, Frisco town limits to the North, the Continental Divide to the East, and the Tenmile range to the West.

The all-volunteer Breckenridge Fire Department was created in 1880, headquartered in the Fireman’s Hall. Red, White & Blue originates from three different fire companies that were organized in 1882 to protect the mining district of Breckenridge after three large fires that almost destroyed the town. The three companies were the Red: The Pioneer Hook and Ladder Company, White: The Independent Hose Company, and Blue: The Blue River Hose Company (Red, White & Blue Volunteer Fire Department). In 1947, the fire department name changed to the Breckenridge Volunteer Fire Department until 1976 when a special taxing district was officially formed renaming the department to the Red, White & Blue Fire Protection District.

Red, White & Blue Fire Protection District dispatched by Summit County 911 Center

Station 4 – Breckenridge North
Station 5 – Grand Lodge
Station 6 – Breckenridge
Station 7 – Blue River
Training Center
Command / Support
Reserve Apparatus
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.