Grand Junction Fire Department

Grand Junction Fire Department (GJFD), founded in 1889 covers 93 square miles in Mesa County (Colorado) including the areas of Appleton, Bookcliff, Canyon View, Colorado National Monument, Colorado River State Park, Connected Lakes, Cross Orchards Historic Farm, Duck Pond Park, Durham, Eagle Rim Park, Fruitvale, Grand Valley, Gunnison Dam, Las Colonias, Little Park, Matchett, Orchard Mesa, Pear Park, Pomona Park, Red Canyon, Redlands, Riggs Hill, Riverside, Rosevale, Walker State Wildlife Area, West Lake & Whitman Park. (FDID #07735)

The Grand Junction Fire Department is a career fire department with full-time employees serving Fire/EMS operations, fire prevention, community outreach, and administration. The department is comprised of 6 Fire Stations across the city with daily staffing of up to 42 personnel spread across 4 Engine Companies, 2 Truck Companies, 1 Battalion Chief, 2 Medical Officers, 6 “911” Ambulances, and 1 “IFT” / Day-Shift Ambulance. The department recently built its sixth station and has plans to add two more in the next 5 years to add additional coverage to the growing city thanks to the 2018 First Responder Tax that will fund 3 new fire stations, the personnel to staff them, and the apparatus to respond with.

The City of Grand Junction Fire Department provides fire protection, rescue, and emergency medical services to the City of Grand Junction, Grand Junction Rural Fire Protection District, and Grand Junction Redlands Fire Sub-District.

The Grand Junction Fire Department, Grand Junction City Council, and Clifton Fire Protection District Board of Directors enacted an agreement starting January 1, 2023 where the city will assign a Deputy Fire Chief from the Grand Junction Department to the Clifton Fire Protection District to provide management and oversight operations. The contract will “advance the interests of both fire departments as they continue to evaluate and determine if a merger or other permanent relationship between the agencies may be accomplished for the long-term mutual benefit of Clifton and Grand Junction.” The contract will go through July 1, 2023.

Grand Junction Fire Department is dispatched by Grand Junction Regional Communication Center.

Station 1 – Downtown
Station 2 – Matchett
Station 3 – Pomona Park
Station 4 – Orchard Mesa
Station 5 – Redlands
Station 6 – Horizon Park
Station 7 – Appleton
Station 8 – Pear Park
Fire Administration
Reserve Apparatus
Regional Training Facility
Official Site