Dillion Valley Fire District

Dillon Valley Fire District, located in Summit County (Colorado).

Dillon Valley Fire District was formed in 1972, and the district covered the outside of the towns of Breckenridge, Frisco, Silverthorne and Dillion. Covering from the top of Hoosier to past Heeney, the top of Loveland Pass to the top of Vail Pass. Keystone asked the district to provide fire protection and they purchased their first fire engine to the district in early 1973, when it acquired the Denver Fire Department former Engine 21, a 1948 Federal 750 gpm pump.

In 1989, Dillon Valley Fire District with the Dillon Volunteer Fire Department merged as the Dillon Fire Authority. In 1993, Dillon, Dillon Valley and Silverthorne Fire Protection District merged as the Lake Dillon Fire Authority. In 1995, Frisco joined the Lake Dillon Fire Authority. In 1998, voters passed a ballot measure to consolidate into one governmental district, the Lake Dillon Fire Protection District. Snake River Fire subsequently joined the Lake Dillon Fire Authority in 2005 and, after voter approval, became part of Lake Dillon Fire Protection District in May 2006. Lake Dillon Fire Protection District and Copper Mountain Fire Department merged together to form the Summit Fire & EMS Authority in 2018.