Denver Fire Department

Denver Fire Department (DFD), covering 165 square miles in Denver and Arapahoe Counties (Colorado) including the cities and areas of Alamo Placita, Argo Park, Athmar Park, Auraria, Baker, Barnum, Barnum West, Bar-Val Wood Park, Bear Valley, Belcaro, Berkeley, Berkeley Lake, Big Bear Ice Arena, Bonnie Brae, Burns Park, Capitol Hill, Central Park, Chaffee Park, Cherry Creek, Cherry Creek Trail, Cheesman Park, City Park, Clayton, Commons Park, Confluence Park, Congress Park, Conservatory Green, Cooper Lake, Cranmer Park, Crestmoor, Curtis Park, Dailey Park, Denver Coliseum, DIA-Denver International Airport, Douglas County, Eastbridge, Eisenhower Park, Elitch Gardens, Elyria Swansea, Englewood, Expo Park, Ferril Lake, Five Points, Fort Logan, 4 Mile House Park, Four Mile Historic Park, Fuller Park, Galleria, Garfield Lake, Garland Park, Gateway, Gateway Village, Glendale, Goldsmith, Grant Ranch, Grasmere Lake, Great Lawn, Green Valley Ranch, Hale, Hampden Heights, Harvey Park, Highland, Highland’s Garden Village, Hilltop, Holly Hills, Holly Ridge Huston Lake, Indian Creek, Invesco Field At Mile High, Jefferson Park, Kelly Pond, Larimer Square, Lincoln Park, LoDo, Loretto Heights, Lowry, Mar Lee, Marston Reservoir, Montbello, Montclair, Montview, Northeast Park Hill, Northfield, North Park Hill, Ocean Journey, Overland Lake, Parkfield Lake, Park Hill, Pepsi Center, Platt Park, River North Art District, Rocky Mountain Lake, Ruby Hill, Sand Creek, Sheridan, Skeel Reservoir, Skyland, Skyline, Sloan’s Lake, Smith Lake, Southmoor, South Park Hill, Stapleton, Sunnyside, Sun Valley, Swanson Park, Thraemoor, Three Lakes, Valverde, Villa Park, Virginia Village, Union Station, University Hills, University Park, U.S. Mint, Valverde, Vanderbilt Lake, Washington Park, Westerly Creek Dam Pond, Westwood, Whittier, Windsor, Windsor Lake, Wings over the Rockies Museum, Wolcott Lake & Zuni Park. (FDID #01601)

Denver Fire Department’s origins can be traced to 1866 when the first volunteer fire company, Volunteer Hook and Ladder Company No. 1, was organized following the Great Fire of 1863. In the following years additional volunteer fire companies were formed including the James Archer Hose Company No. 2 in 1872, Joseph E. Bates Fire & Hose Company No. 3 in 1872, Woodie Fisher Hose Fire Company No. 4 in 1872, Denver Hook and Ladder Company No. 2 in 1873, Hose Company No. 4 in 1873, and Tabor Hose Company No. 5 in 1879. In 1881, Denver began to move towards becoming a paid fire department while forming several more volunteer fire companies including the Broadway Hose Company No. 6, James Archer Hose Company No. 4, and J. W. Richards Hose Company No. 7. The volunteer fire companies were dissolved over the next several years as Denver transitioned to a paid department with the last volunteer fire company disbanding in 1885.

Denver Fire Department has taken over fire service from several departments since its formation including the South Denver Fire Department in 1894, Highlands Fire Department in 1896, Montclair Volunteer Fire Department in 1902, Westwood Volunteer Fire Department in 1948, Lowry Fire Department in 1994, Glendale Fire Department in 2004, Skyline Fire Department in 2008, Sheridan Fire Department in 2010, and Englewood Fire Department in 2015.

Denver Fire Department is part of the North Central All-Hazards Emergency Management Region (NCR).

Denver Fire Department is dispatched by Denver 911 Communications Center.

Station 1 – Downtown
Station 2 – Gateway
Station 3 – Five Points
Station 4 – Lower Downtown
Station 5 – Glendale
Station 6 – Auraria
Station 7 – Sunnyside
Station 8 – Capital Hill
Station 9 – Globeville
Station 10 – Cole
Station 11 – Baker
Station 12 – Highlands
Station 13 – Kennedy
Station 14 – Montclair
Station 15 – City Park
Station 16 – University
Station 17 – Berkeley
Station 18 – Lowry
Station 19 – Hilltop
Station 20 – Barnum
Station 21 – Washington Park
Station 22 – Hampden
Station 23 – Westwood
Station 24 – University Hills
Station 25 – Harvey Park
Station 26 – Stapleton
Station 27 – Montbello
Station 28 – Fort Logan
Station 29 – Green Valley Ranch
Station 30 – Grant Ranch
Station 31 – DIA ARFF Station 1
Station 32 – DIA ARFF Station 2
Station 33 – DIA ARFF Station 3
Station 34 – DIA ARFF Station 4
Station 35 – DIA ARFF Station 5
Station 36 – Sheridan
Station 37 – Englewood
Station 38 – Englewood
Station 39 – Northfield
Station 40 – West Pena
Station 44 (Line Shop)- Sunny Side
Command / Support
Denver International Airport (DIA) ARFF
DIA Command / Support
Reserve Apparatus
DIA (ARFF) Reserve Apparatus
Denver Wildland Team
Training Center
DIA (ARFF) Training Center
Fleet Maintenance Shops
Denver Fire Communications

Patches / Logos
Denver Fire Memorial
Denver Firefighters Museum
Local 858 Site
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.