Atlanta Fire Rescue Department

Atlanta Fire Rescue Department (AFRD), located in Fulton County (Georgia) including the areas of Adamsville, Almond Park, Atlantic Station, Ben Hill Pines, Blair Villa, Bolton, Brandon, Broadland, Buckhead Village, Capitol View, Carey Park, Carver Hills, Cascade Heights, Castleberry Hill, Castlewood, Center Hill, Chastain Park, Collier Heights, East Atlanta Village, East Lake, Five Points, Edgewood, Garden Hills, Glenrose Heights, Grant Park, Grove Park, Hapeville, Hartsfield-Jackson Airport, Hills Park, Hillside, Inman Park, Kirkwood, Lakewood Heights, Lenox Park, Lenox Square, Lincoln Homes, Lindergh, Lindridge, Little Five Points, Martian Manor, Mellwood, Midtown, Monroe Hrights, Morningside Nature Preserve, Morosgo, Nancy Creek, North Fulton, North Kirkwood, Oakland City, Piedmont Heights, Ridgedale Park, Riverside, Rockdale, Rue Royal, Scotts Crossing, South Kirkwood, Underwood Hills, Vine City, Virginia Highland, Westend, Westminster-Milmar, Westside Park.

Atlanta Fire Rescue Department dates back to February 2nd, 1848, when the Atlanta City Council formed a committee to investigate a fire problem in the brand new town. Only a week later, residents were ordered to have fire buckets in their homes. It would take three more years and several serious fires before the Georgia General Assembly would approve a bill authorizing the formation of Atlanta Fire Company No. 1, which went into service on March 25th, 1851. In 1852, fire cisterns were constructed in several areas downtown. The state legislature again provided assistance to the fire service by requiring buildings to have a short ladder and two fire buckets onsite. Citizens, obtaining city and state charters, formed four separate fire companies. By early 1860, the City Council requested that the four companies combine and form one fire department. On January 20th, 1860, all four companies were placed under one command structure. The Civil War and the burning of Atlanta in 1864 devastated the small volunteer fire department. Union forces seized and/or destroyed all fire apparatus in the city. Atlanta remained an all-volunteer department until July 1st, 1882, when the six remaining volunteer stations were dissolved and the Atlanta Fire Department began with three paid fire stations.

*Station 1 – Castleberry Hill
*Station 2 – Lakewood Heights

*Station 3 – Ridgedale Park
*Station 4 – Downtown
*Station 5 – Southwest
*Station 7 – West End
*Station 8 – Hills Park
*Station 9 – Adamsville
*Station 10 – Grant Park
*Station 11 – Atlantic Station
*Station 12 – Little Five Points
*Station 13 – East Atlanta Village
*Station 14 – Oakland City
*Station 15 – Midtown
*Station 16 – Vine City
*Station 17 – Westview
*Station 18 – South Kirkwood
*Station 19 – Virginia Highland
*Station 20 – Capitol View
*Station 21 – Buckhead Village
*Station 22 – Grove Park
*Station 23 – Underwood Hills
*Station 24 – Hartsfield-Jackson Airport
*Station 25 – Cascade Heights
*Station 26 – Westminster – Milmar
*Station 27 – Hillside
*Station 28 – Riverside
*Station 29 – Piedmont Heights
*Station 30 – Glenrose Heights
*Station 31 – Mellwood
*Station 32 – Hartsfield-Jackson Airport
Station 33 – Hartsfield-Jackson Airport
*Station 34 – Blair Villa
*Station 35 – Hartsfield-Jackson Airport
*Station 38 – Carey Park
*Station 40 – Hartsfield-Jackson Airport
*No Station Information at this time
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.