Monument Fire Protection District

Monument Fire Protection District (MFPD) covers 80 square miles in El Paso & Douglas Counties (Colorado),  including the areas of Arrowwood, Aspen Woods, Beacon Heights, Bent Tree, Black Forest Camp & Conference Area, Canterbury, Chaparral Hills, Clovenhoof Estates, Colorado Estates, Crane, Dancing Wolf, Donala, Elephant Rock, Falcons Nest, Flying Horse, Forest View Acres, Fox Pines, Fox Run Regional Park, Gleneagle Estates, Grace Best, Green Mountain Ranch Estates, Happy Landing, High Forest Ranch, Kings Deer, Kingswood, Lake of the Rockies Resort, Lake Woodmoor, Lewis-Palmer, Limbach, Littlefield, Monument, Monument Hill, Mount Herman, New Santa Fe Trailhead, Northern Colorado Springs, Old Ranch, Overlook Estates, Peaceful Pines, Pine Hills, Pike National Forest, Pioneer, Pleasant View Estates, Pulpit Rock Park, Robinson, Rolling Ridge Rancheros, Rosholt Retreat, Spring Valley, Spring Park, Stagecoach Spring Estates, Struthers Ranch, Sun Hills, Sundance Estates, Tall Pines Ranch & Estates, Timber, Vista Clara Villas, Wakonda Hills, Walden, West Oak Ridge, Woodmoor Forest, and Yorkshire Estates.

Monument Volunteer Fire Department (MVFD) was founded in the late 1930s. In the mid-1970s, the developers of the Woodmoor Subdivision convinced the Town of Monument to create a full-time, paid fire department which became the Woodmoor-Monument Fire Protection District in 1972. A merger between the Woodmoor-Monument Fire Protection District and the Tri-Lakes Fire Protection District (TLFPD) with an agreement forming a Regional Fire Authority on Jan. 1, 2005. Tri-Lakes Monument Fire Protection District (TLMFPD) was established on January 1, 2008, with all paid career firefighters.

The Donald-Wescott Fire Protection District began as the El Paso County Fire Department in 1972 until 1981, changed to the Donald Wescott Fire Protection District (DWFPD), to honor Donald Wescott, a firefighter killed in the line of duty while fighting an apartment fire at the Yorkshire Apartments in May of 1976.

The Tri-Lakes Monument Fire District and Donald-Wescott Fire District signed a contract for services agreement on December 8th, 2021, initiating the unification process between both departments. On July 30th, 2022 at 11:22 am, both departments officially merged into the Monument Fire Protection District. To view the event go to Monument Station 1 Grand Reopening / Merging Ceremony.

Monument Fire Protection District is dispatched by El Paso County Sheriff’s Office Communications Center.

Station 1 – Monument
Station 2 – Spring Park
Station 3 – Woodmoor
Station 4 – Gleneagle
Station 5 – Shamrock Ranch
Station 6 – Sun Hills
Reserve Apparatus
Fire Administration Office
Official Site