Thornton Fire Department

Thornton Fire Department (TFD), covering 28 square miles in Adams, Broomfield & Weld Counties (Colorado) including the areas of Big Dry Creek, Blue Heron, Briar Ridge, Brittany Hill, Brookshire, Carpenter Park, Cherry Park, Cherrywood Park, Community Park, Croke Reservoir, Eagle Lake, East Lake, Fallbrook Farms Park, Fallbrook Park, Five Start Stadium, Fossil Ridge, Glencoe Park, Grandview Ponds Open Space, Grange Creek, Hartley Reservoir, Homestead Hills, Hunters Glen, Holly Crossing, Holly Park, Horizon, Huron Green, Lake Erie, Lake Village Park, Lambertson Lakes Open Space, Liberty Hills Park, Lu Murray Park, Lutz Reservoir, Marshal Lake, Nott Lake, Northbrook Park, Northglenn, North Creek Farms, North Hill, North Mor, Pine Lakes, Prairie Hills, Quail Valley, Quebec Highlands Park, Richards Reservoir, Riverdale, Riverdale Park, Riverdale Ridge, Sage Creek Park, Shadow Ridge, Signal Ditch, Signal Creek, Skylake Park, Skylake Ranch Park, Springvale Park, Thorncreek, Trail Winds, Tuck Ditch Park, Wadley Reservoir, White Harvest Farms, Windsong, Wright Farms Park, Woodglen & Woodhaven Park. (FDID #00175)

Thornton Fire Department began as a volunteer department in 1956. The volunteers took turns keeping the 1924 American LaFrance fire truck at their homes until the community had facilities to store it. The phone company also set-up a special telephone system so every time an emergency call was placed, it would ring at all the firemen’s homes, they would listen for the address and then would meet at the fire.

In 1994, the Thornton Fire Department and the West Adams County Fire Protection District merged to form the North Metro Fire Rescue District and covered the cities of Thornton, Broomfield and Northglenn until December 31st, 1999, when it was decided to de-merge the two districts. The Thornton Fire Department was then re-created in 2000.

Thornton Fire Department has auto-aid agreements with: Federal Heights Fire DepartmentAdams County Fire Rescue (1999), North Metro Fire Rescue District, Westminster Fire Department, and with the North Area Automatic Aid Agreement in 2019 including Brighton Fire Rescue District

Thornton Fire Department is part of the North Area Technical Rescue Team.

Thornton Fire Department (70) is dispatched by Thornton Communications Center.

Station 1 – Community Park
Station 2 – North Mor
Station 3 – Carpenter Park
Station 4 – Hunters Glen
Station 5 – Homestead Hills
Station 6 – Fossil Ridge
Station 7 – Orchard Farms
Station 8 – Windsong
Command / Support
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.