Boulder Rural Fire Rescue

Boulder Rural Fire Rescue (BRFR), covering 25 square miles in Boulder County (Colorado) including the areas of Fentress Lake, Four Mile Creek, Granja Estates, Gunbarrel, Heatherwood, Kelso, Knollwood, Lake Valley, Lefy Hand Creek, Left Hand Valley Reservoir, Lookout Ridge, Meadow Creek, North Rim, Olde Stage-Lower, Orange Orchard, Palo Park, Red Fox Hills, Rustic Knolls, Seven Hills, Spring Valley, Sunshine Canyon-Lower, Twin Lakes, Valhalla, Walden Ponds, Waterstone & White Rock. (FDID #01321)

Boulder Rural Fire Rescue was founded in 1957 as the Boulder Rural & Suburban Volunteer Fire Department and changed to Boulder Rural Fire Protection District in 1985. Boulder Rural Fire Rescue is also known as Boulder Rural Fire Protection District and Boulder Rural Fire Department.

Boulder Rural Fire Rescue has automatic-aid/or mutual-aid agreements with Boulder Fire-Rescue District, Hygiene Fire Protection District, Lafayette Fire Department, Longmont Fire DepartmentLouisville Fire Protection District and Mountain View Fire Rescue.

Boulder Rural Fire Rescue is part of Boulder County Hazmat Authority.

Boulder Rural Fire Protection District (2300) is dispatched by Boulder County Communications.

Station 1 – Gunbarrel
Station 2 – Lake Valley
Command / Support
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.