Littleton Fire Rescue

Littleton Fire Rescue (LFR) covered 102.5 square miles in Arapahoe, Douglas, & Jefferson Counties (Colorado), providing emergency response services and life safety education programs to the citizens of the City of Littleton, the Littleton Fire Protection District, and the Highlands Ranch Metropolitan District. (FDID # 00560)

Littleton Fire Rescue was organized in 1890 as the John G. Lilley Hook & Ladder Company. In 1892, the company reorganized as the Littleton Hose Company # 1, added Company # 2 in 1901, and later changed to the Littleton Volunteer Fire Department. In 1949, the Littleton Fire Protection District was formed and operated with the City of Littleton as one department. In 1960, growth prompted the department abandoned the volunteer system and hired its first paid employees. In 1963 the City of Littleton and Littleton Fire Protection District established a service contract. In 1974, the department became the first fire department in the state with fire department based paramedic services. In 1975 the district extended service to the Meadowbrook-Fairview Metro District through a service contract. Highlands Ranch Metro District was established in 1981 and began contracting fire and emergency medical services in 1988 with a contract between the City of Littleton and the Littleton Fire Protection District.

Littleton Fire Rescue took over fire and medical protection for Lockheed Martin’s Waterton Canyon campus in 2017 from the Lockheed Martin Fire & Emergency Services.

Littleton Fire Rescue operated their own fire communications center until the morning of December 18, 2017 when dispatching services were assumed by South Metro Fire Rescue’s MetCom (Metropolitan Area Communications Center). At one point, Littleton Fire Rescue Communications Center operated as the South Metro Communications Center and provided dispatch services for numerous departments in the South Metro Denver area.

Littleton Fire Rescue merged with South Metro Fire Rescue on January 1st, 2019.

Station 11 – Littleton / Downtown
Station 12 – Littleton
Station 13 – Columbine
Station 14 – Centennial / Southglenn
Station 15 – Centennial / Southglenn
Station 16 – Chatfield
Station 17 – Highlands Ranch
Station 18 – Highlands Ranch
Station 19 – Littleton / Trailmark
Training Center
Command / Support