South Metro Fire Rescue

South Metro Fire Rescue (SMFR) covers 300 square miles in Arapahoe, Douglas, & Jefferson Counties (Colorado) including the areas of Acres Green, Algonquin Acres, Anthology, Aspen Grove, Beverly Hills, Bow Mar, Brookridge, Canyons, Castle Pines, Castle Pines Village, Castlewood, Centennial, Centennial Airport, Chatfield State Park, Cheese Ranch, Cherry Creek, Cherry Creek State Park, Cherry Hills Village, Cherry Knolls, Columbine, Columbine Knolls, Columbine Valley, Cooley Lake, Cottonwood, Daniels Park, Denver Tech Center, Dove Valley, Eaglecrest, Fairview Reservoir, Foxfield, Grand View Estates, Greenwood Village, Happy Canyon, Heritage Hills, Highlands Ranch, High Line Canal, Hillcrest, Hogback Hill, Inverness, Littleton, Lockheed Martin, Lone Tree, Louviers, McArthur Ranch, McLellen Reservoir, Meridian, Parker, Park Meadows, Park Villas, The Pinery, Red Maple Ridge, Redstone, Reuter Hess Reservoir, Ridgegate, Ridgegate East, Rockbridge, Roxborough State Park, Saddle Rock Ridge, Sedalia, Sierra Ridge, Sky Ridge, Smoky Hill, Sorrel Ranch, Southbridge, Southmoor, South Park, Southridge, Sterling Ranch, Stonegate, Stroh Ranch, Summer Lake, Thunder Ridge, Tollgate Crossing, Tomahawk, Trailmark, Waterton Canyon Campus, Westridge, Wildcat Reserve, Willow Creek, and Wolhurst. (FDID #00520)

South Metro Fire Rescue is a result of the combination of numerous departments, each having their own unique history. The origins of the South Metro name began with Castlewood Fire Protection District in 1951. In 1985, Castle Pines Village Fire Department and North Douglas County Fire Protection District joined Castlewood.  In 1989, Cherry Hills Fire Department joined Castlewood. Castlewood Fire Protection District adopted the modern South Metro Fire Rescue name in 1999. In 2000, Louviers Fire Protection District joined South Metro.

Parker Fire Protection District and South Metro Fire Rescue consolidated operations on April 24, 2008, creating the Parker-South Metro Fire Authority and briefly operated under that name before adopting the South Metro Fire Rescue Authority (SMFRA) name in September 2008.  Parker & South Metro completed their merge on January 1st, 2016, dissolving the Authority and returned to the South Metro Fire Rescue name. Cunningham Fire Rescue consolidated operations with South Metro on January 1, 2018. South Metro achieved an ISO Class 1 rating in that same year, becoming the first department in the country to receive a Class 1 rating in the hauled water / non-hydrant areas of their district. Littleton Fire Rescue merged with South Metro Fire Rescue on January 1, 2019, becoming Colorado’s second largest fire department. The Meadowbrook-Fairview Metro District approved inclusion into the fire district in May of 2019.

South Metro Fire Rescue is dispatched by South Metro Fire Dispatch Center (South Metro Fire Emergency Communications).

Station 11 – Downtown Littleton
Station 12 – Littleton
Station 13 – Columbine
Station 14 – Cherry Knolls
Station 15 – Southglenn
Station 16 – Chatfield
Station 17 – Highlands Ranch East
Station 18 – Highlands Ranch West
Station 19 – Trailmark
Station 20 – Highlands Ranch South
Station 21 – Arapahoe County
Station 22 – Centennial
Station 23 – Centennial
Station 31 – Greenwood Village
Station 32 – Centennial
Station 33 – Castlewood
Station 34 – Lone Tree
Station 35 – Centennial
Station 36 – Castle Pines
Station 37 – Greenwood Village
Station 38 – Cherry Hills Village
Station 39 – Castle Pines Village
Station 40 – Louviers
Station 41 – Parker
Station 42 – Foxfield
Station 43 – The Pinery
Station 44 – Meridian
Station 45 – Stonegate
Station 46 – Stroh Ranch
Station 47 – Tomahawk
Quartermaster Station
Command / Support
Fleet Services
South Metro Training Center
Troy Jackson Training Center
South Metro Fire Emergency Communications
Patches / Logos
South Metro Photography
South Metro Training Division
Local 2086
Official Site


If you want to help us update this department with photos or information, contact us here.