2016 Doors Open Denver
The Denver Fire Department and the Denver Firefighters Museum were among dozens of entities who participated in Doors Open Denver (DOD) on April 23rd – 24th 2016. DOD is an annual two-day event that provides opportunities for residents and visitors to explore some of the unique, high profile and historic structures in Denver. DFD opened up Stations 3, 9, 14, and 18 as part of this year’s event.
Station 3, at 2500 Washington Street, was built in 1931. It is currently the oldest and smallest Denver firehouse still in use. Station 3 serves the Five Points area and was an all African-American fire company from 1897 until 1957.
Station 9, at 4400 Brighton Boulevard, was built in 2001 and serves the Globeville and River North areas. The station houses an engine, tower and the department’s decontamination unit which responds to hazardous material incidents citywide when needed.
Station 14, at 1426 Oneida Street, was built in 1937 as a federal Works Progress Administration project. The two-story Tudor-style structure originally served the Colorado Women’s College, Fitzsimons Hospital and the Denver Municipal Airport.
Station 18, at 8701 E. Alameda Avenue, was built in 2014 as part of the voter-approved 2007 Better Denver Bond program. The station incorporates environmentally sustainable approaches to conserve resources and save energy in keeping with the city’s sustainability goals.
The Denver Firefighters Museum, at 1326 Tremont Place, was built in 1909 and served as DFD’s original Station 1. The museum opened in 1980 and displays vintage fire equipment, a horse drawn steamer, and motorized engines from 1923, 1942 and 1953.